NAD+ shots vs IV drips: what the evidence actually says
Quick answer
The video compares intramuscular NAD+ injections at 125 mg to intravenous NAD+ drips at 500-2,000 mg, positioning dose and convenience as the primary differentiators. While IV NAD+ is used clinically in some addiction medicine and functional medicine contexts, evidence for cognitive or general wellness benefits in healthy adults is not established by randomized controlled trials. The 2,000 mg loading dose described carries known tolerability risks, including nausea, flushing, and chest discomfort, that are not disclosed in the video.
Our take · Written by FormBlends editorial team · Reviewed by FormBlends Medical Team· This is not a transcript. It is our independent review of the video above.
What did @rhw_brownsboro actually say?
The creator, appearing to work at a clinic called Restore, ran through a side-by-side comparison of two NAD+ delivery formats. Shots are intramuscular, "125 milligrams per shot," administered into the hip, and take about five minutes. IV drips run "500 or 750 milligrams" and can also be given as a "loading dose" of 2,000 milligrams over five to six days. The pitch is straightforward: shots are convenient, IVs are higher dose, and if you want "a drastic change" in how you feel or your "cognitive function," NAD is "an awesome option." The video ends with a call to book an appointment via DM or bio link.
This is a sales video with a light educational wrapper. That context matters when evaluating the claims. The creator is not a researcher presenting data. They are a clinic representative presenting service tiers. Knowing that changes how you should weigh what follows.
Does the science back this up?
Partially. NAD+ precursor research is real and growing, but the clinical evidence for injected or infused NAD+ in healthy adults is thin. Most of the compelling data involves NAD+ precursors like NMN or NR taken orally, not intravenous NAD+ itself.
A 2023 randomized controlled trial by Pencina et al. in the New England Journal of Medicine found that NMN supplementation raised NAD+ levels in muscle tissue but did not improve physical performance measures in middle-aged adults. That is a precursor study, not an IV study, but it illustrates the gap between raising NAD+ levels and producing meaningful functional outcomes. A 2020 review by Yoshino, Baur, and Imai in Cell Metabolism acknowledged that NAD+ metabolism is genuinely involved in aging biology but noted that human clinical data on NAD+ repletion therapies remains limited and inconsistent. The claim that IV NAD+ produces cognitive benefits is particularly under-evidenced. There are case reports and small pilot studies, but no large randomized trials in healthy adults. The "cognitive function" benefit the creator mentions is not established by the current clinical literature.
What did they get wrong (or right)?
Credit where it is due: the practical distinction between IM shots and IV drips is accurate. Intramuscular injections do deliver a lower volume more quickly, and IV infusions do allow for higher total doses. The description of IV NAD+ causing slow infusion times because of side effects like chest tightness and nausea, though the creator frames it as individual variation rather than a known tolerability issue, reflects real clinical experience. Slower infusion rates do reduce side effects.
What they got wrong: the framing that a "2,000 milligram loading dose" over five to six days is simply a tool for people who want "a drastic change" is irresponsible without mentioning that high-dose IV NAD+ carries real side effects. Published clinical experience, including work by Braidy et al. (2019, Antioxidants and Redox Signaling), notes that rapid IV NAD+ infusion commonly produces nausea, flushing, and chest discomfort. Calling 2,000 mg "a crazy amount" and then immediately following with a booking CTA is not a safety disclosure.
The cognitive benefit claim is the weakest part. Saying NAD+ can change "how you feel, your cognitive function" without qualification overstates what the evidence shows for intravenous NAD+ in otherwise healthy people.
What should you actually know?
NAD+ is a real coenzyme involved in cellular energy metabolism and DNA repair. The interest in NAD+ repletion as a longevity and recovery strategy is not fringe science. But there is a wide gap between promising preclinical data and the polished wellness-clinic pitch you are watching on TikTok.
A few things worth knowing before you book. First, compounded IV NAD+ is not FDA-approved as a drug for any indication. It is administered under practitioner discretion, which means the evidence bar for use is lower than for approved therapies. Second, the dose ranges mentioned in this video, especially 2,000 mg over multiple days, are not standardized. There is no peer-reviewed consensus on optimal dosing for healthy adults. Third, the cost of IV NAD+ therapy is significant and is rarely covered by insurance. Fourth, IM NAD+ injections are less studied than IV administration. The bioavailability and pharmacokinetics of intramuscular NAD+ in humans are not well characterized in published literature. If you are considering NAD+ therapy, ask your provider what specific outcome they are treating, what evidence supports that outcome, and what monitoring they provide. A clinic that only answers with a booking link is not giving you enough information.
Video review standard
Clinical fact-check snapshot
FormBlends treats social health videos as a starting point, then checks the claim against medical context, source quality, safety limits, and whether licensed provider review belongs in the next step.
Evidence signal
Source-backed review
Regulatory reality
NAD+ Peptide Complex access requires the right clinical path
Safety screen
Viral claims can miss contraindications, dose escalation, medication interactions, and quality-control risks.
This page currently connects to 4 source-backed evidence items through visible references or structured citation data.
PubMed evidence trail
Research sources used to frame this page
For NAD+ shots vs IV drips: what the evidence actually says, FormBlends checks the page topic against primary trials, systematic reviews, guidelines, and current PubMed-indexed literature where available. These citations are context, not medical advice, proof of eligibility, or a claim that every study applies to every patient.
NAD+ metabolism and its roles in cellular processes during ageing
Core review for NAD+ decline, mitochondrial function, DNA repair, and aging biology.
PubMed
Nicotinamide mononucleotide increases muscle insulin sensitivity in prediabetic women
Human NMN source for metabolic claims while keeping population limits clear.
PubMed
Comparison decision path
Use this comparison to narrow the provider review question
Direct answer
NAD+ Peptide Complex should help you decide which option deserves a clinical review, not force a one-size answer.
Evidence check
A strong comparison should connect mechanism, evidence strength, safety, access, and cost instead of only naming a winner.
Safety check
The right choice can change based on history, medication interactions, side effects, budget, and availability.
Next step
Compare available products and select the relevant treatment page for its specific next step.
Claim path
Keep researching this nad+ video claims cluster
Best for searchers separating NAD+ longevity marketing from practical metabolic and safety questions.
Claim verdict
The useful answer behind this video
Claim being checked
The video compares intramuscular NAD+ injections at 125 mg to intravenous NAD+ drips at 500-2,000 mg, positioning dose and convenience as the primary differentiators.
FormBlends verdict
The video compares intramuscular NAD+ injections at 125 mg to intravenous NAD+ drips at 500-2,000 mg, positioning dose and convenience as the primary differentiators. While IV NAD+ is used clinically in some addiction medicine and functional medicine contexts, evidence for cognitive or general wellness benefits in healthy adults is not established by randomized controlled trials. The 2,000 mg loading dose described carries known tolerability risks, including nausea, flushing, and chest discomfort, that are not disclosed in the video.
Patient-safe next step
Compare the claim with the NAD+ Peptide Complex guide, safety notes, access rules, and a licensed-provider review.
What to do with this video
Use the clip as a claim to verify, not a treatment plan
What it helps with
- The video compares intramuscular NAD+ injections at 125 mg to intravenous NAD+ drips at 500-2,000 mg, positioning dose and convenience as the primary differentiators. While IV NAD+ is used clinically in some addiction medicine and functional medicine contexts, evidence for cognitive or general wellness benefits in healthy adults is not established by randomized controlled trials. The 2,000 mg loading dose described carries known tolerability risks, including nausea, flushing, and chest discomfort, that are not disclosed in the video.
- NAD+ is a real coenzyme central to cellular metabolism, but IV and IM NAD+ therapies are not FDA-approved drugs and lack large randomized controlled trials supporting cognitive or wellness benefits in healthy adults.
- A 2023 RCT by Pencina et al. (NEJM) found that raising NAD+ levels with NMN did not improve physical performance in middle-aged adults, illustrating the gap between elevated NAD+ levels and functional outcomes.
What it may miss
- It may not cover eligibility, contraindications, medication interactions, lab history, or dose escalation.
- NAD+ Peptide Complex decisions still need source quality, legal access, and provider oversight checks.
- Social video captions rarely show the full evidence base behind a claim.
Best next step
Compare the claim against the NAD+ Peptide Complex guide, cost path, safety notes, and provider review before acting.
Review NAD+ Peptide ComplexWhat You'll Learn
- NAD+ is a real coenzyme central to cellular metabolism, but IV and IM NAD+ therapies are not FDA-approved drugs and lack large randomized controlled trials supporting cognitive or wellness benefits in healthy adults.
- A 2023 RCT by Pencina et al. (NEJM) found that raising NAD+ levels with NMN did not improve physical performance in middle-aged adults, illustrating the gap between elevated NAD+ levels and functional outcomes.
- Braidy et al. (2019, Antioxidants and Redox Signaling) document that IV NAD+ infusion commonly causes nausea, flushing, and chest discomfort, particularly at higher doses or faster rates. This video does not mention these side effects.
- The 2,000 mg loading dose described is not a standardized clinical protocol. No peer-reviewed consensus exists on optimal dosing for NAD+ IV therapy in healthy adults.
- Compounded IV NAD+ is not equivalent to an FDA-approved pharmaceutical. It is administered under individual practitioner discretion with a lower evidence threshold than approved drugs.
- The cognitive benefit claim is the weakest in the video. Yoshino, Baur, and Imai (2020, Cell Metabolism) concluded that human evidence for NAD+ repletion improving cognitive function remains limited and inconsistent.
- Before booking, ask any NAD+ clinic what specific outcome they are targeting, what published evidence supports that outcome for your situation, and what side effect monitoring protocol they follow.
Interested in GLP-1 or peptide therapy?
Get matched with licensed-provider review to help decide if it is right for you.
About the Creator
Restore Brownsboro · TikTok creator
1.1K views on this video
NAD SHOTS VS IV DRIPS #ivdrip #nad #restore#greenscreen
Sources & references
Citations extracted from our medical team's review. Click any citation to search PubMed.
Read More on This Topic
Our written guides go deeper with dosing details, comparison tables, and medical-team reviewed protocols.
Not medical advice. This video was made by Restore Brownsboro, not by FormBlends. Our write-up above is an editorial review, not a medical recommendation. Talk to your doctor before making any decisions about medications or treatments.