Key Takeaways
- UnitedHealthcare covers GLP-1 medications for Type 2 diabetes on most plans, but weight-loss coverage depends entirely on whether your employer purchased the optional obesity rider
- The same drug (semaglutide or tirzepatide) may be covered for diabetes but excluded for weight loss, even if prescribed by the same doctor
- UnitedHealthcare's 2026 prior authorization programs ask for confirmation of a type 2 diabetes diagnosis for the diabetes drugs (no BMI requirement, no step therapy) and for BMI, age and lifestyle-adjunct criteria for the weight-loss drugs (program documents effective July 1 and September 1, 2026)
- UnitedHealthcare describes its weight-loss drug program as an optional program for clients or businesses that have elected to cover weight-loss products, and states that medications used for weight loss are typically excluded from benefit coverage (program documents 2026 P 1114-22 and 2026 P 1332-8)
The short answer
UnitedHealthcare covers GLP-1 medications for Type 2 diabetes on most plans with prior authorization. Weight-loss coverage is optional and depends on whether your employer or plan purchased obesity treatment benefits. The same medication prescribed for obesity instead of diabetes is often excluded even when the diabetes indication is covered. Check your specific plan's formulary and exclusion list.
Table of contents
- The coverage split: diabetes vs weight loss
- How UnitedHealthcare structures GLP-1 coverage across plan types
- The prior authorization requirements you'll face
- What most articles get wrong about "medical necessity"
- The employer exclusion problem
- Brand-name vs compounded: coverage differences
- How to check your specific plan's coverage
- The step-therapy protocol UnitedHealthcare requires
- Out-of-pocket costs when coverage is approved
- What to do when your claim is denied
- The Medicare Advantage exception
- UHC's 2026 PA criteria, from the documents
- Wegovy for heart risk and MASH when weight-loss drugs are excluded
- Medicare in 2026: the GLP-1 Bridge
- Manufacturer savings math, 2026 terms
- FAQ
- Sources
The coverage split: diabetes vs weight loss
UnitedHealthcare treats GLP-1 medications as two separate drug categories depending on the diagnosis code your provider submits:
Check your GLP-1 eligibility
Use our free BMI Calculator to see if you may qualify for provider-reviewed GLP-1 therapy.
Try the BMI Calculator →For Type 2 diabetes (ICD-10 code E11.x):
- Ozempic (semaglutide), Mounjaro (tirzepatide), Trulicity (dulaglutide), Rybelsus and Victoza (liraglutide) are the drugs listed in UnitedHealthcare's diabetes GLP-1 prior authorization program; UHC notes brand Victoza is typically excluded, and tier placement is set by each plan's prescription drug list
- Prior authorization under program 2026 P 1332-8 (effective July 1, 2026) is approved on medical records confirming type 2 diabetes, or ongoing treatment for diabetes diagnosed more than 2 years ago; authorization lasts 12 months
- Rybelsus (oral semaglutide) covered on most formularies as alternative to injectable options
For obesity or weight management (ICD-10 code E66.x):
- Wegovy (semaglutide) and Zepbound (tirzepatide) fall under a separate weight-loss program (2026 P 1114-22, effective September 1, 2026) that UnitedHealthcare describes as optional, in place only for clients that have elected to cover weight-loss products
- When covered, tier placement and cost sharing are set by the plan's prescription drug list; UnitedHealthcare publishes no single tier for these drugs
- Saxenda (liraglutide 3 mg) is on the same weight-loss program list, with a 4-month initial authorization and reauthorization at 4 percent weight loss
The critical distinction: the FDA-approved indication determines coverage, not the medication itself. Semaglutide for diabetes (Ozempic) may be covered while semaglutide for weight loss (Wegovy) is excluded, even though both contain identical active ingredients at similar doses.
This creates the "diagnosis code arbitrage" problem. Patients with both Type 2 diabetes and obesity qualify for diabetes-indication GLP-1s, which happen to cause weight loss. Patients with obesity alone but no diabetes diagnosis face exclusion on most plans.
How UnitedHealthcare structures GLP-1 coverage across plan types
UnitedHealthcare operates multiple plan types, each with different GLP-1 coverage patterns:
| UnitedHealthcare program (commercial) | Document | Effective | Drugs | Who it applies to |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diabetes agents: GLP-1 receptor agonists | 2026 P 1332-8 | July 1, 2026 | Mounjaro, Ozempic, Rybelsus, Trulicity, Victoza | Standard prior authorization; approval on records confirming type 2 diabetes; UHC notes these drugs are not FDA approved for weight loss and that weight-loss use is typically excluded |
| Weight loss | 2026 P 1114-22 | September 1, 2026 | Wegovy (injection, tablet, HD), Zepbound, Saxenda, Foundayo, Qsymia, Contrave, Xenical, phentermine-class drugs | Described by UHC as an optional program for clients or businesses that have elected to cover weight-loss products, and as meeting state mandates in California, New Mexico, North Dakota essential health benefit plans and New York |
| Non-formulary Wegovy | 2026 P 1445-4 | May 1, 2026 | Wegovy injection or tablet | Allows coverage for cardiovascular risk reduction, and Wegovy injection for MASH, on plans where weight-loss drugs are a benefit exclusion |
| Medicare Advantage (Part D) | Medicare GLP-1 Bridge | July 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027 | Wegovy, Zepbound KwikPen, Foundayo | $50 per month with prior authorization, outside the $2,100 Part D out-of-pocket cap; diabetes GLP-1s remain ordinary Part D drugs |
Correction, September 2026: an earlier version of this section showed coverage percentages by plan type (92, 88, 95, 38, 22 and 45 percent). UnitedHealthcare does not publish plan-level coverage rates, the figures could not be traced to any source, and they have been removed.
The self-funded vs fully insured distinction still matters, because a self-funded employer decides whether to buy the weight-loss program at all, while some fully insured plans must cover it under state mandates (UnitedHealthcare names California, New Mexico, North Dakota essential health benefit plans and New York in program 2026 P 1114-22). Whether either group covers more often than the other is not something UnitedHealthcare publishes.
The prior authorization requirements you'll face
Prior authorization (PA) is required for all GLP-1 medications on UnitedHealthcare plans, regardless of indication. The PA criteria differ by diagnosis:
For Type 2 diabetes indication:
- Medical records confirming type 2 diabetes: A1C of 6.5 percent or higher, fasting plasma glucose of 126 mg/dL or higher, 2-hour plasma glucose of 200 mg/dL or higher, or random glucose of 200 mg/dL or higher with symptoms (program 2026 P 1332-8, effective July 1, 2026)
- Or medical records showing ongoing treatment for type 2 diabetes diagnosed more than 2 years ago. There is no BMI requirement in the diabetes program
- No step therapy. UnitedHealthcare's April 2024 change log for this program reads: removed that step therapy may be in place
- Authorization lasts 12 months
- UnitedHealthcare states it may approve based solely on previous claim or medication history and diagnosis codes, without a full clinical submission
For obesity indication (when covered):
- BMI of 30 or higher (for pediatric patients, above the 95th percentile), or BMI of 27 or higher with at least one weight-related comorbidity; the program's examples are dyslipidemia, hypertension, type 2 diabetes and sleep apnea (program 2026 P 1114-22, effective September 1, 2026; North Dakota fully insured essential health benefit plans use BMI of 40 or higher)
- The medication is used as an adjunct to lifestyle modification; the program does not specify a documented program length
- Age 12 or older for Wegovy injection, Saxenda, Qsymia and Xenical; over 16 for the other listed drugs
- The request is for weight loss, or for Wegovy's cardiovascular risk reduction or MASH indication, or Zepbound's obstructive sleep apnea indication
Initial authorizations under the weight-loss program run 5 months for Wegovy, 6 months for Zepbound, Foundayo and Xenical, 4 months for Contrave, Qsymia and Saxenda, and 3 months for phentermine-class drugs. Reauthorization for 12 months requires documented weight loss of at least 5 percent of baseline (3 percent for Qsymia, 4 percent for Saxenda) plus continued lifestyle modification. Correction, September 2026: an earlier version of this page gave approval timelines and denial rates (18 percent and 35 percent). UnitedHealthcare does not publish those figures and they have been removed.
What most articles get wrong about "medical necessity"
Most insurance explainer articles claim GLP-1 medications are covered "when medically necessary." This is technically true but misleading in a way that costs patients time and money.
Here's the error: medical necessity is a required condition for coverage, but not a sufficient condition. A medication can be medically necessary and still excluded.
UnitedHealthcare's coverage determination follows this hierarchy:
- Is the medication on an excluded drug list? If yes, stop. No coverage regardless of medical necessity. This is where most weight-loss GLP-1s fail for employer-sponsored plans.
- Is the medication on the plan formulary? If no, stop. Not covered.
- Does the diagnosis code match a covered indication? If no, stop. Off-label use is typically not covered.
- Are prior authorization criteria met? If no, denied pending additional documentation.
- Is the medication medically necessary for this patient? Only now does medical necessity enter the decision.
The practical implication: your provider can write the most compelling medical necessity letter in the world, but if your employer excluded weight-loss medications in step 1, the letter is irrelevant. The claim will be denied before medical review.
This is why "check your formulary" is more important than "get a good prior auth letter." The formulary tells you whether the drug is even eligible for consideration. Medical necessity only matters for drugs that pass the formulary screen.
The employer exclusion problem
The single biggest barrier to GLP-1 coverage on UnitedHealthcare plans is employer-level exclusions. Employers purchasing group health insurance can exclude entire drug categories to control costs.
Weight-loss medications are the most commonly excluded category. UnitedHealthcare's own diabetes GLP-1 program states that medications used for the purposes of weight loss are typically excluded from benefit coverage, and its weight-loss program is described as optional, in place for clients that have elected to cover weight-loss products (documents effective July 1 and September 1, 2026). Correction, September 2026: an earlier version cited an Employers Health Coalition report and a Health Affairs 2025 article for a 64 percent exclusion figure; neither publication could be found and the figure has been removed.
The exclusion language typically appears in the Summary Plan Description (SPD) under "Exclusions and Limitations" and reads:
> "Medications prescribed primarily for weight loss or weight management, including but not limited to GLP-1 agonists, are excluded from coverage regardless of medical necessity or comorbid conditions."
This exclusion overrides prior authorization. Even if you meet every clinical criterion, the claim is denied at the formulary level.
A common pattern: patients assume their UnitedHealthcare plan covers GLP-1s because the plan covers other specialty medications or because a coworker with diabetes gets Ozempic covered. They proceed through provider visits and prior authorization, only to receive a denial citing the exclusion clause 4 to 6 weeks later. The exclusion was present in the SPD the entire time but wasn't checked.
The solution is to check the exclusion list before starting prior authorization. Call UnitedHealthcare member services (number on your insurance card) and ask specifically: "Does my plan exclude medications for weight loss or obesity treatment?" Request a written confirmation via the member portal.
Brand-name vs compounded: coverage differences
UnitedHealthcare does not cover compounded medications under any plan type. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are excluded because they are not FDA-approved drugs.
The coverage table:
| Medication type | UnitedHealthcare coverage |
|---|---|
| Brand-name FDA-approved (Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro) | Covered on some plans with PA, excluded on others |
| Compounded semaglutide from 503A or 503B pharmacy | Never covered |
| Compounded tirzepatide from 503A or 503B pharmacy | Never covered |
| Compounded GLP-1 with added ingredients (B12, etc.) | Never covered |
This is standard across major insurers. UnitedHealthcare's prior authorization programs list only FDA-approved products (2026 P 1332-8 for diabetes and 2026 P 1114-22 for weight loss); compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide do not appear on them. Correction, September 2026: an earlier version cited a UnitedHealthcare medical policy numbered 2024T0598H; that document could not be located and the reference has been removed.
Patients using compounded GLP-1s pay out of pocket. Price is the usual reason: Wegovy's list price is $1,349.02 per package, though Novo Nordisk's self-pay program charges $199 for each of the first two fills of the pen and $349 after that, with the Wegovy pill at $149 to $299 (wegovy.com, 2026). Dated cash prices for compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide across U.S. telehealth providers are tracked in the Compounded GLP-1 Price Index (as of September 3, 2026).
For patients whose UnitedHealthcare plan excludes weight-loss GLP-1s, the choice is between:
- Paying the manufacturer's self-pay price for brand-name medication insurance won't cover: Wegovy pen $199 for the first two fills then $349; Zepbound vial or KwikPen through LillyDirect $299, $399 or $449 by dose, or $499 with the Lilly savings card when a commercial plan does not cover it (2026 program terms)
- Paying out of pocket for compounded medication, at prices that vary by provider (see the Compounded GLP-1 Price Index)
- Pursuing a diabetes diagnosis if clinically appropriate, which may qualify for covered Ozempic or Mounjaro
How to check your specific plan's coverage
Follow this sequence to determine your exact coverage before starting treatment:
Step 1: Log into your UnitedHealthcare member portal.
- Navigate to "Prescription Drug List" or "Formulary"
- Search for the specific drug name (Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro)
- Note the tier placement and any coverage restrictions
Step 2: Check the exclusion list.
- In the member portal, find "Plan Documents" or "Summary Plan Description"
- Search the PDF for "exclusions" and look for weight-loss medication language
- If excluded, coverage is not possible regardless of medical necessity
Step 3: Call member services for verbal confirmation.
- Number is on the back of your insurance card
- Ask: "Is [drug name] covered on my specific plan for [diabetes/weight loss]?"
- Ask: "What prior authorization requirements apply?"
- Request a reference number for the call
Step 4: Request a coverage determination in writing.
- Available through the member portal under "Coverage Decisions"
- Provides a binding answer before you fill the prescription
- Turnaround time is 72 hours for standard requests
Step 5: Check for manufacturer copay assistance eligibility.
- If covered but with high cost-sharing, manufacturer programs may help
- Novo Nordisk's Wegovy savings card: pay as little as $25 with commercial coverage, maximum savings $100 per 1-month fill (wegovy.com, 2026)
- Eli Lilly's savings cards: Zepbound as little as $25, with savings capped at $100, $200 or $300 per 1, 2 or 3-month fill and $1,300 per year, expiring December 31, 2026; Mounjaro caps of $150, $300 or $450 per fill and $1,950 per year (Lilly, 2026)
- Copay cards typically don't work with self-funded employer plans due to copay accumulator programs
The written coverage determination (step 4) is the most reliable. Verbal confirmations from member services are sometimes incorrect because representatives don't have access to employer-specific exclusions.
The step-therapy protocol UnitedHealthcare requires
Step therapy (also called fail-first protocols) requires patients to try and fail less expensive medications before a drug is approved. Correction, September 2026: an earlier version of this section described metformin, phentermine and orlistat step requirements as UnitedHealthcare's protocol. Neither 2026 program document contains step therapy; the diabetes program's change log explicitly removed it in April 2024. What the documents actually require:
For Type 2 diabetes:
- Records confirming type 2 diabetes by lab value, or ongoing treatment for diabetes diagnosed more than 2 years ago
- No metformin trial, no second agent, no A1C threshold above the diagnostic one
- Approval for 12 months
For obesity (when covered):
- BMI of 30 or higher, or 27 or higher with a listed comorbidity; age criteria by drug
- Use as an adjunct to lifestyle modification; no prior weight-loss drug trial is required
- Initial approval of 5 months (Wegovy) or 6 months (Zepbound); reauthorization for 12 months at 5 percent or greater weight loss
If a specific plan does impose step therapy (UnitedHealthcare's national 2026 programs do not), exceptions typically cover:
- Contraindication to required step medication (documented allergy, drug interaction, or medical condition)
- Previous trial and failure of step medication within the past 12 months (requires documentation)
- Clinical urgency (rare for weight-loss medications, more common for diabetes with very high A1C)
Correction, September 2026: an earlier version stated that step therapy adds 6 to 9 months and cited a JAMA Network Open 2024 survey by Luo et al. The article could not be found and the claim has been removed.
Out-of-pocket costs when coverage is approved
When UnitedHealthcare covers a GLP-1 medication, out-of-pocket costs depend on plan tier structure and whether you've met your deductible:
| Tier | Typical monthly cost | Annual cost (before deductible met) | Annual cost (after deductible met) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tier 3 (preferred brand) | $50-150 copay | $600-1,800 | $600-1,800 |
| Tier 4 (non-preferred brand) | $100-250 copay or 25% coinsurance | $1,200-3,000 | $1,200-3,000 |
| Tier 5 (specialty) | 25-40% coinsurance | $3,000-6,000 | $3,000-6,000 |
Most GLP-1s fall into Tier 4 or Tier 5. If your plan has a deductible (common on employer-sponsored plans), you pay full cost until the deductible is met, then the tier cost-sharing applies.
Example calculation for a patient on a plan with $2,000 deductible and Tier 4 coverage for Wegovy:
- Months 1-2: Pay the list price ($1,349.02 per month, about $2,698 for two months, which meets the deductible); the Wegovy savings card pays at most $100 per fill toward this
- Months 3-12: Pay 25% coinsurance ($1,349 × 0.25 = $337/month × 10 = $3,370)
- Total annual cost: $6,068
This is where manufacturer savings cards help, within limits. Novo Nordisk's Wegovy savings card lets commercially insured patients pay as little as $25 per month, but the maximum savings is $100 per 1-month fill (wegovy.com, 2026), so it offsets a copay rather than a deductible. Lilly's Zepbound card works the same way: as little as $25, savings capped at $100 per 1-month fill and $1,300 per year, expiring December 31, 2026.
Important copay accumulator note: Some UnitedHealthcare plans (particularly self-funded employer plans) use copay accumulator programs that prevent manufacturer copay assistance from counting toward your deductible or out-of-pocket maximum. This means the manufacturer pays your copay, but you still owe the full deductible before insurance coverage begins. Check whether your plan has a copay accumulator adjustment program before relying on manufacturer assistance.
What to do when your claim is denied
UnitedHealthcare does not publish denial rates for GLP-1 prior authorization. Correction, September 2026: the 35 percent and 18 percent figures that appeared here earlier had no source and have been removed. Denials generally fall into three categories:
Category 1: Incomplete documentation
- Missing BMI measurement within past 90 days
- No documentation of prior medication trials with dates and dosages
- Missing A1C result for diabetes indication
- For weight-loss requests, missing age, BMI or lifestyle-modification documentation
Solution: Request a copy of the denial letter, which specifies the missing documentation, and have your provider resubmit with complete records against the criteria quoted above.
Category 2: Plan exclusion
- Medication excluded for weight-loss indication regardless of medical necessity
- No appeal will succeed because exclusion is a plan design feature, not a medical decision
Solution: None via insurance. Options are out-of-pocket payment for brand-name or compounded medication, or waiting for employer to change plan design during next open enrollment.
Category 3: Criteria not met
- BMI below threshold
- Insufficient duration of prior treatment attempts
- Contraindication present (family history of medullary thyroid cancer, pregnancy)
Solution: If clinical facts support coverage, file a formal appeal. UnitedHealthcare has a two-level appeal process:
Level 1 appeal (internal):
- Submit within 180 days of denial
- Include provider letter explaining medical necessity
- Include supporting clinical documentation (labs, medication trial records, weight logs)
- Decision within 30 days for standard appeals, 72 hours for urgent appeals
- UnitedHealthcare does not publish appeal approval rates
Level 2 appeal (external review):
- Available if Level 1 denied
- Reviewed by independent third party, not UnitedHealthcare
- Must file within 60 days of Level 1 denial
- Decision is binding on UnitedHealthcare
- External review applies to medical-judgment denials, not to plan exclusions
Correction, September 2026: combined appeal success rates of 45 percent and 28 percent that previously appeared here could not be traced to any source and have been removed. An appeal can succeed when a denial rests on a criterion you can document; it cannot override a plan exclusion.
The Medicare Advantage exception
Correction, September 2026: an earlier version of this section said UnitedHealthcare Medicare Advantage plans cannot cover GLP-1 medications for weight loss under any circumstances. That changed on July 1, 2026. Under the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, Wegovy, the Zepbound KwikPen and Foundayo are available for $50 per month with prior authorization from July 1, 2026 through December 31, 2027, and the cost sits outside the $2,100 Part D out-of-pocket cap (healthinsurance.org, 2026). The underlying statute still excludes weight-loss drugs from ordinary Part D coverage.
The Medicare Prescription Drug Benefit (Part D) explicitly excludes "drugs used for weight loss or weight gain" under 42 U.S.C. § 1395w-102(e)(2)(A). This exclusion applies to all Medicare Advantage plans regardless of insurer.
The one exception: Medicare covers GLP-1 medications when prescribed for FDA-approved indications other than weight loss. Currently this means:
- Type 2 diabetes (Ozempic, Mounjaro, Trulicity, Victoza, Rybelsus)
- Cardiovascular risk reduction in patients with established cardiovascular disease (Ozempic, Victoza)
Wegovy also carries FDA-approved indications for cardiovascular risk reduction and for MASH, and Zepbound for obstructive sleep apnea; those non-weight-loss indications can be covered as ordinary Part D drugs, and UnitedHealthcare's commercial non-formulary Wegovy program (2026 P 1445-4, effective May 1, 2026) uses the same logic. Ozempic and Mounjaro, approved for diabetes, are covered when prescribed for diabetes even if weight loss occurs as a secondary benefit.
For patients who turn 65, the Bridge softens what used to be a coverage cliff: a patient with commercial coverage for Wegovy or Zepbound can move to the $50 per month Bridge price on Medicare, with prior authorization, through December 31, 2027. What happens after that date has not been announced as of September 5, 2026.
Legislative note: The Medicare GLP-1 Bridge is an administrative program with an end date of December 31, 2027, not a change to the statute. Permanent coverage would still require Congress to amend the Part D exclusion.
The FormBlends Coverage Decision Framework
A five-question checklist, drawn from UnitedHealthcare's 2026 program documents, helps you predict the answer before starting prior authorization. Correction, September 2026: an earlier version attached probability percentages to each step and claimed 84 percent accuracy from FormBlends intake data. Those figures had no verifiable basis and have been removed.
Question 1: Is your plan employer-sponsored or individual marketplace?
- Employer-sponsored self-funded: the employer chooses whether to buy the weight-loss program
- Employer-sponsored fully insured: the employer chooses, unless a state mandate applies (UHC names CA, NM, ND essential health benefit plans and NY)
- Individual marketplace: check the plan's drug list; no UHC-wide figure exists
Question 2: Does your Summary Plan Description list weight-loss medication exclusions?
- If yes: weight-loss drugs are not covered, stop here
- If no: proceed to question 3
Question 3: Do you have a diabetes diagnosis with A1C ≥6.5%?
- If yes: the diabetes program (2026 P 1332-8) approves Ozempic or Mounjaro on records confirming the diagnosis, for 12 months
- If no: proceed to question 4
Question 4: Is your BMI ≥30, or ≥27 with documented comorbidity?
- If no: you do not meet the weight-loss program's BMI criterion
- If yes: proceed to question 5
Question 5: Does your documentation match the program's criteria?
- Diabetes: no step therapy in UHC's 2026 national program
- Weight loss: use as an adjunct to lifestyle modification, with age and BMI documented; initial authorization 5 months (Wegovy) or 6 months (Zepbound)
- If yes: submit; UHC may also approve automatically from claims and diagnosis history
- If no: expect a documentation denial and a request for the missing records
The two places this checklist most often goes wrong are question 2 (misreading the plan document's exclusion language) and question 5 (submitting before the diagnosis or BMI records are in the chart).
[Diagram suggestion: Decision tree flowchart with five decision nodes, each branching to coverage probability percentages or "stop" outcomes, color-coded green for high probability, yellow for moderate, red for low/zero]
When compounded GLP-1s become the practical choice
There's a reasonable argument that patients should exhaust insurance coverage options before paying out-of-pocket. We disagree in specific circumstances.
The case for going directly to compounded GLP-1s without pursuing UnitedHealthcare coverage:
Scenario 1: Your plan has a documented weight-loss medication exclusion.
- No appeal will succeed
- Prior authorization attempt wastes 4 to 6 weeks
- You'll end up paying out-of-pocket anyway
- Compounded prices vary by provider (see the Compounded GLP-1 Price Index, as of September 3, 2026); brand-name self-pay is $199 then $349 for the Wegovy pen and $299 to $449 for Zepbound through LillyDirect
Scenario 2: You don't have diabetes and your BMI is 27-29 with no documented comorbidities.
- You don't meet UnitedHealthcare's BMI threshold for weight-loss coverage
- UHC's weight-loss program requires a BMI of 27 or higher with a listed comorbidity, so a BMI of 27 to 29 with none documented does not qualify
- Clinical benefit of early intervention may outweigh insurance savings
Scenario 3: Your plan covers GLP-1s but places them on Tier 5 with 40% coinsurance.
- Your out-of-pocket cost after insurance is $500+/month
- Compounded prices vary by provider; compare dated figures in the price index
- Insurance "coverage" costs more than paying cash for compounded
The math changes if your plan has low cost-sharing (Tier 3 with $50 copay) or if manufacturer copay cards are available and your plan doesn't have copay accumulators. In those cases, pursuing insurance coverage saves money.
The decision framework: if your all-in cost with insurance (including time spent on prior auth and appeals) exceeds your cost with compounded medication, and you're comfortable with compounded medication's regulatory status, the compounded route is rational.
UnitedHealthcare's 2026 prior authorization criteria, quoted from the program documents
As of September 5, 2026, UnitedHealthcare's commercial GLP-1 rules live in three public documents on uhcprovider.com. The criteria below are taken from them directly.
| Item | Diabetes GLP-1 program (2026 P 1332-8, effective July 1, 2026) | Weight-loss program (2026 P 1114-22, effective September 1, 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Drugs | Mounjaro, Ozempic, Rybelsus, Trulicity, Victoza (brand Victoza typically excluded) | Wegovy injection, tablet and HD; Zepbound; Saxenda; Foundayo (orforglipron); Qsymia; Contrave; Xenical; phentermine-class drugs |
| Who the program applies to | Standard prior authorization | Optional program for clients or businesses that have elected to cover weight-loss products; also used where state mandates apply (CA, NM, ND essential health benefit plans, NY) |
| Clinical criteria | Medical records confirming type 2 diabetes (A1C 6.5 percent or higher; fasting plasma glucose 126 mg/dL or higher; 2-hour plasma glucose 200 mg/dL or higher; or random glucose 200 mg/dL or higher with symptoms), or ongoing treatment for diabetes diagnosed more than 2 years ago | Requested for weight loss (or Wegovy CV or MASH, or Zepbound sleep apnea); age 12 or older for Qsymia, Saxenda, Wegovy injection and Xenical, over 16 for others; adjunct to lifestyle modification; BMI 30 or higher (pediatric above 95th percentile) or 27 or higher with a comorbidity such as dyslipidemia, hypertension, type 2 diabetes or sleep apnea |
| BMI requirement | None | As above; ND fully insured EHB plans: BMI 40 or higher |
| Step therapy | None (April 2024 change log: removed that step therapy may be in place) | None listed |
| Initial authorization | 12 months | Wegovy 5 months; Zepbound, Foundayo, Xenical 6 months; Contrave, Qsymia, Saxenda 4 months; phentermine-class 3 months |
| Reauthorization | Not specified beyond renewal | 12 months, with weight loss of at least 5 percent of baseline (3 percent Qsymia, 4 percent Saxenda) and continued lifestyle modification |
| Automatic approval | UHC may approve based solely on previous claim or medication history and diagnosis codes | Same language appears in the program's Additional Clinical Programs section |
| Weight-loss use of diabetes drugs | Not FDA approved for weight loss; medications used for the purposes of weight loss are typically excluded from benefit coverage | Not applicable |
Sources: UHC diabetes GLP-1 prior authorization program (PDF); UHC weight-loss prior authorization program (PDF).
Covered even when weight-loss drugs are excluded: Wegovy for heart risk and MASH
UnitedHealthcare runs a separate commercial program, Prior Authorization/Non-Formulary Wegovy (2026 P 1445-4, effective May 1, 2026), for plans where weight-loss drugs are a benefit exclusion. Its text states that medications for the purpose of weight loss are typically a benefit exclusion, and that the program allows coverage of Wegovy injection or tablet for the cardiovascular risk reduction indication and Wegovy injection for MASH (metabolic dysfunction-associated steatohepatitis).
For the cardiovascular indication the document lists: age 45 or older; BMI of 27 or higher; established cardiovascular disease, defined as prior myocardial infarction, prior stroke, or symptomatic peripheral arterial disease with an ankle-brachial index below 0.85, revascularization or amputation; use alongside a reduced-calorie diet and increased physical activity; and, for patients with a history of myocardial infarction, guideline-directed therapy such as a statin or PCSK9 inhibitor, a beta blocker, and an ACE inhibitor or ARB. If your plan excludes weight-loss drugs but you have established heart disease, this is the pathway to ask your prescriber about. A parallel non-formulary Zepbound program for obstructive sleep apnea is referenced in UHC materials but we have not located the document, so it is not described here.
Source: UHC Prior Authorization/Non-Formulary Wegovy (PDF).
Medicare in 2026: the GLP-1 Bridge replaces the old blanket exclusion
Through June 30, 2026 the answer for Medicare beneficiaries was simple: Part D could not cover a drug prescribed for weight loss, so UnitedHealthcare Medicare Advantage plans could not either. Since July 1, 2026 the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge has changed the practical answer. Wegovy, the Zepbound KwikPen and Foundayo are available to Medicare beneficiaries for $50 per month, with prior authorization, from July 1, 2026 through December 31, 2027, and the cost sits outside the $2,100 Part D out-of-pocket cap (healthinsurance.org, 2026). GLP-1 drugs prescribed for type 2 diabetes remain ordinary Part D drugs, as they always were.
Three cautions. The Bridge is time-limited, and no successor program had been announced as of September 5, 2026. It requires prior authorization, so the same documentation habits apply. And it covers named products in named presentations; ask your plan whether a vial presentation or a different drug qualifies.
Source: healthinsurance.org, Medicare GLP-1 Bridge.
Manufacturer savings math with 2026 program terms
| Program | With commercial coverage | Without coverage (self-pay) | Terms and date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wegovy (Novo Nordisk) | As little as $25 per month; maximum savings $100 per 1-month fill | Pen $199 for each of the first two fills, then $349; HD 7.2 mg $399; pill $149, $199 or $299 by dose; list price $1,349.02 per package | wegovy.com, 2026 |
| Zepbound (Lilly) | As little as $25; savings capped at $100, $200 or $300 per 1, 2 or 3-month fill; $1,300 per year; 13 fills; card expires December 31, 2026 | $499 with the card when a commercial plan does not cover it; LillyDirect vial or KwikPen $299 (2.5 mg), $399 (5 mg), $449 (higher doses) if refilled within 45 days, otherwise $499 or $699 | zepbound.lilly.com and lilly.com/lillydirect, 2026 |
| Mounjaro (Lilly) | Savings capped at $150, $300 or $450 per 1, 2 or 3-month fill; $1,950 per year | $499 not-covered price with the card; wholesale acquisition cost $1,112.16 per 4-pen fill | mounjaro.lilly.com, 2026 |
| Medicare GLP-1 Bridge | Not applicable | $50 per month for Wegovy, Zepbound KwikPen and Foundayo, with prior authorization, July 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027 | healthinsurance.org, 2026 |
| Compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide (not FDA approved) | Not covered | Varies by provider; dated cash prices in the Compounded GLP-1 Price Index | FormBlends price index, as of September 3, 2026 |
Correction, September 2026: an earlier version of this page described the manufacturer cards as worth up to $500 and $550 per month. The 2026 terms above replace those figures.
Sources: Novo Nordisk, what to pay for Wegovy; Lilly, Zepbound coverage and savings; LillyDirect; Lilly, Mounjaro savings and coverage; FormBlends price index feed.
FAQ
Does UnitedHealthcare cover Ozempic for weight loss?
No. UnitedHealthcare covers Ozempic only for FDA-approved indications: Type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular risk reduction. If prescribed for weight loss (off-label use), the claim will be denied even if the medication is on your plan's formulary. Wegovy is the FDA-approved semaglutide formulation for weight loss.
Does UnitedHealthcare cover Wegovy?
It depends on your plan. UnitedHealthcare's weight-loss prior authorization program (2026 P 1114-22, effective September 1, 2026) is an optional program in place for clients that have elected to cover weight-loss products, with a 5-month initial authorization for Wegovy. Separately, Wegovy for cardiovascular risk reduction or MASH can be covered under the non-formulary Wegovy program (effective May 1, 2026) even when weight-loss drugs are excluded. UHC publishes no plan-level coverage rates.
Does UnitedHealthcare cover Mounjaro for weight loss?
No. UnitedHealthcare covers Mounjaro only for Type 2 diabetes, its FDA-approved indication. For weight loss, the FDA-approved tirzepatide formulation is Zepbound. Coverage for Zepbound follows the same pattern as Wegovy: covered on some plans, excluded on others.
How much does Wegovy cost with UnitedHealthcare insurance?
Cost sharing depends on your plan's tier and deductible; UnitedHealthcare publishes no single figure. With commercial coverage, the Wegovy savings card lets you pay as little as $25 per month, with maximum savings of $100 per 1-month fill. Without coverage, the list price is $1,349.02 per package, and Novo Nordisk's self-pay price is $199 for each of the first two pen fills and $349 after that (wegovy.com, 2026).
Does UnitedHealthcare Medicare Advantage cover GLP-1 for weight loss?
Since July 1, 2026, yes, through the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge: Wegovy, the Zepbound KwikPen and Foundayo for $50 per month with prior authorization, through December 31, 2027, outside the $2,100 Part D cap (healthinsurance.org, 2026). Ozempic and Mounjaro remain covered as ordinary Part D drugs when prescribed for type 2 diabetes.
What is the prior authorization process for GLP-1 medications with UnitedHealthcare?
Your provider submits a prior authorization request through UnitedHealthcare's provider portal or by fax. For the diabetes drugs, the request needs records confirming type 2 diabetes (A1C, fasting or 2-hour glucose, or treatment history over 2 years); for weight-loss drugs, age, BMI (30 or higher, or 27 with a listed comorbidity) and use alongside lifestyle modification (UHC programs effective July 1 and September 1, 2026). UHC may also approve from claims and diagnosis history. It publishes no turnaround or approval rate.
Can I appeal a UnitedHealthcare denial for Wegovy?
Yes. UnitedHealthcare has a two-level appeal process. Level 1 is internal review by UnitedHealthcare (30-day decision). Level 2 is external independent review (binding decision). However, appeals rarely succeed if the denial reason is a plan exclusion rather than medical necessity. Exclusions are plan design features that appeals cannot override.
Does UnitedHealthcare cover compounded semaglutide?
No. UnitedHealthcare does not cover compounded medications under any plan type. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are not FDA-approved drugs and are explicitly excluded from coverage. Patients using compounded GLP-1s pay out-of-pocket.
How do I check if my UnitedHealthcare plan covers GLP-1 medications?
Log into your member portal, navigate to "Prescription Drug List," and search for the specific drug name. Check both the formulary tier and the plan's exclusion list in your Summary Plan Description. Call member services for verbal confirmation and request a written coverage determination for a binding answer.
What BMI do I need for UnitedHealthcare to cover weight-loss GLP-1s?
UnitedHealthcare's weight-loss program (2026 P 1114-22, effective September 1, 2026) requires a BMI of 30 or higher (pediatric patients above the 95th percentile), or 27 or higher with at least one weight-related comorbidity such as dyslipidemia, hypertension, type 2 diabetes or sleep apnea, plus use as an adjunct to lifestyle modification. North Dakota fully insured essential health benefit plans use a BMI of 40 or higher.
Does UnitedHealthcare cover Zepbound?
Coverage depends on your plan. Zepbound is on UnitedHealthcare's optional weight-loss prior authorization program (2026 P 1114-22, effective September 1, 2026), with a 6-month initial authorization and reauthorization for 12 months at 5 percent or greater weight loss. Requests for Zepbound's obstructive sleep apnea indication are handled under the same program. Tier placement is set by each plan's drug list.
Can my doctor prescribe Ozempic off-label for weight loss and get UnitedHealthcare to cover it?
No. UnitedHealthcare denies claims for off-label use of GLP-1 medications. The diagnosis code on the prescription must match an FDA-approved indication. Ozempic prescribed for weight loss (diagnosis code E66.x) will be denied even though Ozempic prescribed for diabetes (diagnosis code E11.x) would be covered.
How long does UnitedHealthcare prior authorization take for GLP-1 medications?
UnitedHealthcare does not publish a decision turnaround in its 2026 GLP-1 program documents. The documents do say UHC may approve based solely on previous claim or medication history and diagnosis codes, which can make a decision immediate. Ask the member services number on your card for your plan's timeline and for the reference number of any pending request.
What happens to my GLP-1 coverage when I turn 65 and switch to UnitedHealthcare Medicare Advantage?
Since July 1, 2026 you can move to the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, which prices Wegovy, the Zepbound KwikPen and Foundayo at $50 per month with prior authorization through December 31, 2027 (healthinsurance.org, 2026). If you have type 2 diabetes, Ozempic or Mounjaro remain ordinary Part D drugs. What follows the Bridge's end date has not been announced.
Does UnitedHealthcare require step therapy before approving GLP-1 medications?
No step therapy is listed in either 2026 UnitedHealthcare program. The diabetes program (effective July 1, 2026) approves on confirmation of type 2 diabetes and its April 2024 change log removed the step-therapy note. The weight-loss program (effective September 1, 2026) requires BMI, age and use alongside lifestyle modification, with no prior drug trial. Individual plans can add their own rules, so confirm with member services.
What does UnitedHealthcare require for Mounjaro or Ozempic prior authorization in 2026?
Under program 2026 P 1332-8 (effective July 1, 2026), medical records confirming type 2 diabetes: an A1C of 6.5 percent or higher, fasting plasma glucose of 126 mg/dL or higher, a 2-hour glucose of 200 mg/dL or higher, or a random glucose of 200 mg/dL or higher with symptoms; or ongoing treatment for diabetes diagnosed more than 2 years ago. There is no BMI requirement and no step therapy. Authorization lasts 12 months, and UHC may approve from claims history alone.
How long does a UnitedHealthcare Zepbound or Wegovy approval last?
Under the weight-loss program effective September 1, 2026, the initial authorization is 5 months for Wegovy and 6 months for Zepbound, Foundayo and Xenical (4 months for Contrave, Qsymia and Saxenda; 3 months for phentermine-class drugs). Reauthorization is granted for 12 months when records show weight loss of at least 5 percent of baseline (3 percent for Qsymia, 4 percent for Saxenda) and continued lifestyle modification (UHC program 2026 P 1114-22).
Can UnitedHealthcare cover Wegovy if my plan excludes weight-loss drugs?
Possibly, for a different indication. UHC's non-formulary Wegovy program (2026 P 1445-4, effective May 1, 2026) allows coverage for cardiovascular risk reduction (age 45 or older, BMI 27 or higher, prior heart attack, stroke or symptomatic peripheral arterial disease, on guideline therapy) and for MASH, on plans where weight-loss drugs are excluded. Zepbound's sleep apnea indication is handled through the weight-loss program document. Ask your prescriber to request the specific indication.
Related guides
- Does Blue Cross Blue Shield Cover GLP-1 Medications for Weight Loss and Diabetes?
- Does UnitedHealthcare Cover Wegovy for Weight Loss? The 2026 Policy Breakdown and What to Do When You're Denied
- Does UnitedHealthcare Cover Weight Loss Injections? The 2026 Policy Reality and What to Do When Denied
- Does UnitedHealthcare Cover Zepbound for Weight Loss? The 2026 Coverage Map and Your Actual Options
- Does UnitedHealthcare Cover Ozempic for Weight Loss in 2026?
- Does UnitedHealthcare Cover Mounjaro for Weight Loss in 2026?
Sources
- Jastreboff AM et al. Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity. New England Journal of Medicine. 2022.
- Wilding JPH et al. Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity. New England Journal of Medicine. 2021.
- UnitedHealthcare. Prior Authorization/Notification: Diabetes Agents, GLP-1 Receptor Agonists (program 2026 P 1332-8), effective July 1, 2026. https://www.uhcprovider.com/content/dam/provider/docs/public/prior-auth/drugs-pharmacy/commercial/a-g/PA-Notification-Diabetes-Agents-GLP1-Receptor-Agonists.pdf
- UnitedHealthcare. Prior Authorization/Notification: Weight Loss (program 2026 P 1114-22), effective September 1, 2026. https://www.uhcprovider.com/content/dam/provider/docs/public/prior-auth/drugs-pharmacy/commercial/r-z/PA-Notification-Weight-Loss.pdf
- UnitedHealthcare. Prior Authorization/Non-Formulary: Wegovy (program 2026 P 1445-4), effective May 1, 2026. https://www.uhcprovider.com/content/dam/provider/docs/public/prior-auth/drugs-pharmacy/commercial/r-z/PA-Non-Formulary-Wegovy.pdf
- healthinsurance.org. Does health insurance cover drugs used for weight loss? (Medicare GLP-1 Bridge terms), 2026. https://www.healthinsurance.org/faqs/does-health-insurance-cover-drugs-used-for-weight-loss-such-as-ozempic-wegovy-mounjaro-and-zepbound/
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Medicare Prescription Drug Benefit Manual, Chapter 6. 2025.
- American Diabetes Association. Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes - 2026. Diabetes Care. 2026.
- Garvey WT et al. American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists Guidelines for Obesity Management. Endocrine Practice. 2024.
- FormBlends. Compounded GLP-1 Price Index, data feed as of September 3, 2026. https://formblends.com/feeds/glp1-prices.json
- Novo Nordisk. What to pay for Wegovy (self-pay pricing, savings card terms, list price), 2026. https://www.wegovy.com/obesity/what-to-pay-for-wegovy.html
- Eli Lilly and Company. Zepbound coverage and savings (savings card terms, card expires December 31, 2026). https://zepbound.lilly.com/coverage-savings
- 42 U.S.C. § 1395w-102(e)(2)(A): Medicare Part D Excluded Drug Categories.
- Congressional Budget Office. Cost Estimate for Treat and Reduce Obesity Act of 2025.
- UnitedHealthcare. Prior Authorization/Notification: Diabetes Agents, GLP-1 Receptor Agonists, program 2026 P 1332-8, P&T approval 4/2026, effective July 1, 2026. https://www.uhcprovider.com/content/dam/provider/docs/public/prior-auth/drugs-pharmacy/commercial/a-g/PA-Notification-Diabetes-Agents-GLP1-Receptor-Agonists.pdf
- UnitedHealthcare. Prior Authorization/Notification: Weight Loss, program 2026 P 1114-22, effective September 1, 2026. https://www.uhcprovider.com/content/dam/provider/docs/public/prior-auth/drugs-pharmacy/commercial/r-z/PA-Notification-Weight-Loss.pdf
- UnitedHealthcare. Prior Authorization/Non-Formulary: Wegovy, program 2026 P 1445-4, effective May 1, 2026. https://www.uhcprovider.com/content/dam/provider/docs/public/prior-auth/drugs-pharmacy/commercial/r-z/PA-Non-Formulary-Wegovy.pdf
- healthinsurance.org. Does health insurance cover drugs used for weight loss such as Ozempic, Wegovy, Mounjaro and Zepbound? (Medicare GLP-1 Bridge: $50 per month, July 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027). https://www.healthinsurance.org/faqs/does-health-insurance-cover-drugs-used-for-weight-loss-such-as-ozempic-wegovy-mounjaro-and-zepbound/
- Novo Nordisk. What to pay for Wegovy: self-pay pricing, savings card terms and list price, 2026. https://www.wegovy.com/obesity/what-to-pay-for-wegovy.html
- Eli Lilly and Company. Zepbound coverage and savings, 2026 (card expires December 31, 2026). https://zepbound.lilly.com/coverage-savings
- Eli Lilly and Company. LillyDirect self-pay Zepbound pricing ($299, $399, $449; 45-day refill rule). https://www.lilly.com/lillydirect/zepbound
- Eli Lilly and Company. Mounjaro savings and coverage (card caps $150, $300, $450; $1,950 per year; WAC $1,112.16). https://mounjaro.lilly.com/savings-coverage
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA's Concerns with Unapproved GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss, content current as of September 1, 2026. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/postmarket-drug-safety-information-patients-and-providers/fdas-concerns-unapproved-glp-1-drugs-used-weight-loss
- FormBlends. Compounded GLP-1 Price Index, data feed as of September 3, 2026. https://formblends.com/feeds/glp1-prices.json
Footer disclaimers
Platform Disclaimer. FormBlends is a digital health platform that connects patients with licensed providers and U.S.-based pharmacies. We do not manufacture, prescribe, or dispense medication directly. All clinical decisions are made by independent licensed providers.
Compounded Medication Notice. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are not FDA-approved. They are prepared by a state-licensed compounding pharmacy in response to an individual prescription. Compounded medications have not undergone the same review process as FDA-approved drugs and are not interchangeable with brand-name products.
Results Disclaimer. Individual results vary. Weight-loss outcomes depend on diet, exercise, adherence, baseline weight, and individual response to treatment. Statements about average outcomes reference published clinical trial data, which may differ from real-world results.
Trademark Notice. UnitedHealthcare is a registered trademark of UnitedHealth Group. Ozempic, Wegovy, and Rybelsus are registered trademarks of Novo Nordisk. Mounjaro and Zepbound are registered trademarks of Eli Lilly and Company. Trulicity is a registered trademark of Eli Lilly and Company. Victoza and Saxenda are registered trademarks of Novo Nordisk. FormBlends is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by any of these companies.
See your options in about 2 minutes
Take the free quiz and see what fits you. Quick, private, and no commitment to continue.
See my options →