All GLP-1 medications from licensed 503A compounding pharmacies Browse Products

First Zepbound Dose: What to Expect in the First 72 Hours

A day-by-day guide to appetite changes, common first-week patterns, meals, hydration, and what to track after a first 2.5 mg Zepbound dose.

By FormBlends Editorial Research||
In This Article

This article is part of our GLP-1 Weight Loss collection. See also: Provider Comparisons | Peptide Guides

Key Takeaways

  • The first Zepbound dose is 2.5 mg. The label states that the 2.5 mg dosage is for treatment initiation and is not approved as a maintenance dosage, and that the dose is increased in 2.5 mg steps after at least 4 weeks (Zepbound prescribing information, revised 08/2026).
  • Tirzepatide reaches its peak blood level at a median of 24 hours after injection (range 8 to 72 hours) and has a half-life of about 5 to 6 days, so it is present all week (label section 12.3). When appetite changes become noticeable varies by person and is not reported in the label.
  • The label's adverse-reaction table covers 72 weeks at 5, 10 and 15 mg (nausea 25 to 29 percent, constipation 11 to 17 percent, fatigue 5 to 7 percent). No 2.5 mg-specific rates or first-week timings are published, and headache is not in the table.
  • SURMOUNT-1 had no 2.5 mg arm and reported results at 72 weeks (-15.0, -19.5 and -20.9 percent at 5, 10 and 15 mg vs -3.1 percent on placebo; Jastreboff et al., NEJM 2022). No published trial reports 4-week weight change at the starter dose.
  • Stay hydrated (80+ oz water daily), eat protein-forward small meals, and don't push through severe nausea. The titration plan is designed to give your body 4 weeks at each dose.

The short answer

After your first 2.5 mg Zepbound injection, tirzepatide reaches its peak blood level at a median of 24 hours (range 8 to 72 hours) and, with a half-life of about 5 to 6 days, stays in your system all week (label, revised 08/2026). Nausea, constipation and fatigue are labeled common reactions, but their first-week frequency at 2.5 mg is not published. The 2.5 mg dose is for treatment initiation, not maintenance, and no trial reports 4-week weight change at this dose. Correction, September 2026: earlier versions of this page gave first-month percentages and pound figures that could not be traced to any published source; they have been removed.

See your GLP-1 options in about 2 minutes. Free and private. See my options →

Table of contents

  1. The 30-second answer
  2. The first 24 hours: hour-by-hour timeline
  3. Days 2 through 7: appetite, side effects, and what's normal
  4. Week 2 through week 4: settling in at 2.5 mg
  5. What weight loss to expect at the starter dose
  6. The most common side effects in the first month, ranked
  7. What to eat and drink during the first week
  8. Red flags that mean call your provider
  9. When you escalate to 5 mg: what changes
  10. Compounded tirzepatide vs Zepbound: any first-dose differences?
  11. When the first dose peaks: label pharmacokinetics
  12. Missed or early second dose: the 4-day rule
  13. What a first month costs, September 2026
  14. FAQ
  15. Sources
  16. Footer disclaimers

The first 24 hours: hour-by-hour timeline

Tirzepatide is absorbed gradually from the subcutaneous injection site. The label reports a median time to maximum plasma concentration of 24 hours, with a range of 8 to 72 hours, and about 80 percent bioavailability (section 12.3, revised 08/2026). Much of what you notice in the first day is anticipation rather than pharmacology.

Check your GLP-1 eligibility

Use our free BMI Calculator to see if you may qualify for provider-reviewed GLP-1 therapy.

Try the BMI Calculator →

Hour 0 to 4. You probably feel nothing different. Tirzepatide hasn't reached therapeutic plasma levels yet. The injection site may have a small red dot or mild itching that resolves within an hour.

Hour 4 to 8. Some patients report a slight loss of appetite or "fullness" sensation. This is usually psychological more than pharmacological at this stage. A small percentage of patients report mild headache or fatigue, again partly nocebo.

Hour 8 to 24. Plasma tirzepatide is rising. Appetite suppression becomes real for most patients toward the end of this window. Dinner the evening of the injection often goes uneaten halfway through. Mild nausea may appear for a subset of patients, usually mild enough to ignore.

The injection site itself is rarely a problem. In the label's pooled 72-week data, injection-site reactions were reported by 6 percent of patients at 5 mg and 8 percent at 10 mg and 15 mg, against 2 percent on placebo (Table 1, revised 08/2026). A pea-sized lump or mild redness for 24 to 48 hours is normal. Pain that radiates, expanding redness, or warmth that worsens after 24 hours is not normal and warrants attention.

Days 2 through 7: appetite, side effects, and what's normal

This is the window when most patients feel the drug.

Day 2. Plasma tirzepatide approaches peak. Appetite suppression is noticeable for most patients. Many describe it as "I forgot to eat lunch." Breakfast may be smaller, lunch may be skipped, dinner may be a third of the usual portion. Energy is generally normal. Mild nausea (the kind that resolves with a cracker or ginger tea) is the most common complaint.

Day 3 to 4. Blood levels are past their median peak but still high. The label states that tirzepatide's delay of gastric emptying is largest after the first dose and diminishes over time (section 12.2), which is one reason the first week can feel different from later weeks. No 2.5 mg-specific rates exist for nausea, fatigue or constipation; the label's 72-week figures at 5 mg are 25, 5 and 17 percent respectively (Table 1). Correction, September 2026: the first-week percentages that previously appeared here were unsourced and have been removed.

Day 5 to 7. Plasma levels begin gradually declining. The half-life of tirzepatide is approximately 5 to 6 days (label section 12.3), so you don't fall off a cliff. Side effects start to fade. Appetite suppression remains strong but less dramatic. Some patients describe day 5 to 7 as "the new normal," where eating less feels effortless rather than forced.

A few specifics that don't get talked about enough:

  • Energy. Most patients feel normal energy on day 1 and day 2, slight fatigue on day 3 to 4, then normal again. The fatigue is usually mild and corresponds to lower calorie intake plus mild dehydration.
  • Sleep. Some patients sleep more deeply on days 2 to 4, possibly because slower gastric emptying means lighter dinners and less reflux.
  • Mood. Slight irritability is reported by a minority of patients in the first 5 days, usually attributed to caloric drop rather than the drug itself. The drug doesn't appear to alter mood directly in clinical trials.
  • Bowel habits. Constipation is more common than diarrhea at the 2.5 mg dose. Higher doses tip the balance toward diarrhea for some patients.

Week 2 through week 4: settling in at 2.5 mg

By week 2, your body has adjusted to the 2.5 mg dose. Plasma levels are oscillating in a narrow steady-state range as you take your second, third, and fourth doses, one per week.

Week 2. Side effects are usually minimal. Patients report a few hours of mild nausea on injection day for some, and routine eating habits the rest of the week. Most report a measurable but small drop in hunger.

Week 3. This is often the easiest week of the starter month. Side effects have largely resolved. Eating habits are settled at a reduced level. Many patients report they are "noticeably full" after smaller portions and feel satisfied for longer between meals.

Week 4. The end of the starter month. The 2.5 mg dose is meant to be a brief introduction, not a long-term therapeutic dose. Most providers schedule a check-in at week 4 to confirm tolerability before escalating to 5 mg. If you've handled 2.5 mg without significant side effects, escalation is the standard next step.

The label puts it plainly: the 2.5 mg dosage is for treatment initiation and is not approved as a maintenance dosage, and the dose is increased in 2.5 mg increments after at least 4 weeks on the current dose (section 2, revised 08/2026). SURMOUNT-1 tested 5, 10 and 15 mg as maintenance doses, reached through a 20-week escalation that began at 2.5 mg. The intent of the starter month is tolerability, not weight loss.

What weight loss to expect at the starter dose

The honest answer first: no published trial reports weight change after 4 weeks at 2.5 mg. SURMOUNT-1 (2,539 adults without diabetes, randomized to 5, 10 or 15 mg or placebo) reported its results at 72 weeks, after a 20-week dose-escalation period that began at 2.5 mg (Jastreboff et al., NEJM 2022). Individual first-month changes vary with starting weight, prior diet and water balance, and none of that has been quantified for the starter dose.

Correction, September 2026: an earlier version of this page listed week-4 weight changes by arm attributed to a SURMOUNT-1 reanalysis. Those figures are not in the published trial and have been removed. What SURMOUNT-1 actually reported at 72 weeks:

  • There was no 2.5 mg arm; 2.5 mg was the first 4 weeks of a 20-week escalation in every active arm
  • 5 mg arm: mean weight change -15.0% at 72 weeks
  • 10 mg arm: mean weight change -19.5% at 72 weeks
  • 15 mg arm: mean weight change -20.9% at 72 weeks
  • Placebo arm: mean weight change -3.1% at 72 weeks

The headline figure from SURMOUNT-1, a 20.9 percent mean reduction, is the 72-week result at 15 mg. Month 1 is barely the beginning. Don't anchor expectations on a 4-week scale reading.

Three things drive higher weight loss in month 1:

  1. High starting weight. Patients above 250 lb tend to lose more in absolute pounds during the first 4 weeks because there's more mass and the appetite suppression produces a larger calorie deficit.
  2. Water weight. Some early scale change is water rather than fat, particularly for people whose prior diet was high in sodium. No published figure quantifies this for Zepbound.
  3. Dietary baseline. People who were eating well above maintenance before treatment tend to lose more early because the appetite drop produces a larger deficit.

What matters more than the month-1 scale number is the trajectory. If your weight is moving down, even by 1 lb per month, the drug is working. The therapeutic doses (5 mg and above) are where the meaningful loss happens.

The most common side effects in the first month, ranked

Correction, September 2026: the table that previously appeared here gave 2.5 mg frequencies attributed to a SURMOUNT-1 2.5 mg arm and to FAERS data. There is no 2.5 mg arm, FAERS reports cannot produce incidence rates, and none of the figures could be traced to a source. The table below is the label's Table 1: adverse reactions reported in at least 2 percent of Zepbound patients and more often than placebo across 72 weeks in the pooled obesity studies (revised 08/2026). Rates specific to the 2.5 mg starter month are not published.

Adverse reaction (label Table 1, 72 weeks)Placebo (N=958)5 mg (N=630)10 mg (N=948)15 mg (N=941)
Nausea8%25%29%28%
Diarrhea8%19%21%23%
Vomiting2%8%11%13%
Constipation5%17%14%11%
Abdominal pain5%9%9%10%
Dyspepsia4%9%9%10%
Injection-site reactions2%6%8%8%
Fatigue3%5%6%7%
Hypersensitivity reactions3%5%5%5%
Eructation (burping)1%4%5%5%
Hair loss1%5%4%5%
Gastroesophageal reflux disease2%4%4%5%
Flatulence2%3%3%4%
Abdominal distension2%3%3%4%
Dizziness2%4%5%4%
Hypotension0%1%1%2%

A few notes on this list:

  • Nausea in the label is 25, 29 and 28 percent at 5, 10 and 15 mg against 8 percent on placebo, over 72 weeks. The starter dose is intended to improve tolerability, but its own nausea rate has not been published.
  • Eructation (burping) appears in the label at 4, 5 and 5 percent against 1 percent on placebo. The hydrogen-sulfide explanation and the over-the-counter remedies that previously appeared here were unsourced and have been removed; ask your provider or pharmacist about remedies.
  • In the label, diarrhea (19, 21 and 23 percent) is more frequent than constipation (17, 14 and 11 percent) at every maintenance dose, and the gap widens with dose. How a baseline bowel condition interacts with these figures has not been studied at the starter dose.

For more detail on specific side effects, see our does Zepbound cause headaches and Zepbound and acid reflux guides.

What to eat and drink during the first week

The most evidence-based first-week dietary advice is short and boring.

Hydration target. 80 to 100 ounces of water daily. Don't wait for thirst because tirzepatide blunts thirst signals. Use a marked bottle to track.

Protein floor. 0.7 to 1.0 g of protein per pound of goal body weight. For a 200 lb person aiming for 170 lb, that's 119 to 170 g daily. Adequate protein is generally advised to help preserve lean mass during weight loss; discuss your target with your provider. Correction, September 2026: a citation to an American Society for Nutrition position paper that appeared here could not be verified and has been removed.

Meal pattern. Five small meals or three meals plus two protein snacks. Smaller volumes are better tolerated by a stomach that's emptying slower than usual.

Foods to favor. Lean proteins (chicken, turkey, fish, Greek yogurt, eggs, cottage cheese, lentils, tofu), low-fat dairy, oatmeal, rice, potatoes, simple cooked vegetables, fruit (especially low-fiber fruits like bananas and melon during the first week), broth-based soups.

Foods to limit during week 1. High-fat meals (cream sauces, fried foods, large quantities of nuts), large portions (volume matters as much as content), spicy foods, very acidic foods (citrus, tomato), carbonated beverages, alcohol. Most of these are well-tolerated after the first week, but they're easier on the stomach to avoid early.

Caffeine. If you drink coffee, don't quit cold-turkey. Taper by half a cup every 3 days if your coffee drive is dropping. Sudden cessation produces 24 to 72 hours of withdrawal headaches.

Alcohol. Two reasons to be cautious in week 1. First, alcohol is hard on the slowed stomach and can worsen nausea. Second, GLP-1 agonists appear to dampen the dopaminergic response to alcohol, which means patients sometimes drink less (good) but also sometimes feel the effects of alcohol harder than expected (caution).

For detailed first-week meal planning, see our GLP-1 first week meal guide.

Red flags that mean call your provider

Most first-dose Zepbound experiences are unremarkable. A few presentations are not normal and need provider evaluation.

Call your provider within 24 hours for:

  • Persistent vomiting beyond 12 hours
  • Inability to keep liquids down
  • Severe upper abdominal pain that doesn't improve with rest
  • Signs of dehydration (dark urine, dizziness, confusion, very dry mouth)
  • Hives, swelling of the face/lips, or difficulty breathing (allergic reaction)
  • Injection-site reaction with expanding redness, warmth, or pus

Emergency care for:

  • Severe upper abdominal pain that radiates to the back (possible pancreatitis)
  • Severe right-upper-quadrant pain after fatty meals (possible gallbladder issue)
  • Vomiting blood or coffee-ground material
  • Black tarry stools
  • Difficulty breathing or swelling of the face/throat

Acute pancreatitis is a labeled warning for Zepbound (Warnings and Precautions, revised 08/2026), and the label says to discontinue the drug if pancreatitis is suspected. Sudden severe upper abdominal pain that doesn't improve in 30 to 60 minutes is the most important symptom to take seriously.

When you escalate to 5 mg: what changes

The standard schedule moves from 2.5 mg to 5 mg after 4 weeks. The 5 mg dose is the lowest dose with proven efficacy for weight loss in obesity (Jastreboff et al., NEJM 2022).

What to expect during the escalation:

  • Some return of side effects after the increase. The label notes that the gastric-emptying delay is largest after the first dose and diminishes over time (section 12.2); how long a post-escalation flare lasts is not published
  • Stronger appetite suppression. Many patients describe 5 mg as "the dose that felt different" because hunger essentially disappears for stretches at a time
  • Nausea in 25 percent, constipation in 17 percent and fatigue in 5 percent of 5 mg patients over 72 weeks in the label (Table 1); 2.5 mg rates are not published for comparison
  • The start of the doses that were actually tested for weight loss. SURMOUNT-1 measured its results at 72 weeks, and the label gives no weekly rate

If 2.5 mg was rough, talk with your provider before escalating. Some patients benefit from a second month at 2.5 mg before moving up. The titration schedule is a guideline, not a contract.

Compounded tirzepatide vs Zepbound: any first-dose differences?

Compounded tirzepatide is intended to contain the same active molecule as Zepbound, but it is not FDA approved, its concentration and purity are not FDA-verified, and FDA had received more than 730 adverse-event reports for compounded tirzepatide as of May 31, 2026, many involving dosing errors (FDA, content current as of September 1, 2026). Identical first-dose pharmacology cannot be assumed; the label data on this page describe Zepbound.

A few practical differences are worth noting:

  • Dosing accuracy. Compounded vials are drawn manually with a U-100 insulin syringe. A patient drawing 27 units instead of 25 units gets a slightly higher first dose and may experience marginally more side effects. Practice the draw with sterile saline if you're unsure (see our tirzepatide units conversion guide).
  • Additives. Some compounded vials include vitamin B12 (cyanocobalamin) and appear pink, red, or orange. The B12 doesn't change the first-dose experience.
  • Storage. Both refrigerate. Under USP <797>, a compounded multiple-dose vial may not be used beyond its assigned beyond-use date or 28 days after first puncture, whichever is shorter. Zepbound now also comes in a multi-dose vial and a single-patient-use KwikPen with their own in-use rules (label section 16, revised 08/2026).

The first-dose experience is otherwise indistinguishable. If you're switching from a pen to a vial or vice versa at a stable dose, expect no change in side effects.

When the first dose peaks: the label's pharmacokinetics (revised August 2026)

The Zepbound prescribing information, revised 08/2026, gives four numbers that answer most first-dose timing questions. Median time to maximum plasma concentration is 24 hours, with a range of 8 to 72 hours. Absolute bioavailability is about 80 percent. Steady-state concentrations are reached after 4 weeks of once-weekly dosing. The elimination half-life is approximately 5 to 6 days. The label also notes that tirzepatide's delay of gastric emptying is largest after the first dose and diminishes over time (section 12.2), which fits the common report that the first week feels different from later weeks.

Correction, September 2026: an earlier version of this page said blood levels peak around hour 48 and that the half-life is about 5 days. Both have been corrected to the label figures.

Source: Zepbound prescribing information, sections 2, 12.2 and 12.3, revised 08/2026.

Missed or early second dose: the label's 4-day rule

Zepbound is taken once weekly on the same day each week. If a dose is missed, the label says to take it as soon as possible within 4 days (96 hours) after the missed dose; if more than 4 days have passed, skip the missed dose and take the next one on the regularly scheduled day (section 2.3, revised 08/2026). The label does not provide any rule for taking a dose early because side effects feel mild, and it does not permit doubling up. If you have taken more than your prescribed dose, the label's overdosage section directs you to contact the Poison Help Line at 1-800-222-1222 or a medical toxicologist (section 10).

Source: Zepbound prescribing information, sections 2.3 and 10, revised 08/2026.

What a first month of Zepbound costs, as of September 5, 2026

SituationPrice for a 1-month fillTermsSource
Commercial insurance that covers Zepbound, with the Lilly savings cardAs little as $25Savings capped at $100 per 1-month fill ($200 for 2 months, $300 for 3 months), $1,300 per calendar year, up to 13 fills; card expires December 31, 2026zepbound.lilly.com
Commercial insurance that does not cover Zepbound$499Lilly savings card, not-covered pricezepbound.lilly.com
Self-pay through LillyDirect (vial or KwikPen)$299 for 2.5 mg, $399 for 5 mg, $449 for higher dosesRefill within 45 days of the prior fill to keep the price; otherwise $499 (2.5 mg) or $699 (higher doses)lilly.com/lillydirect
Medicare, through the GLP-1 Bridge$50 per monthZepbound KwikPen, Wegovy and Foundayo; prior authorization; July 1, 2026 through December 31, 2027; outside the $2,100 Part D caphealthinsurance.org
Compounded tirzepatide (not FDA approved)Varies by providerDated cash prices for U.S. telehealth providers are tracked in the Compounded GLP-1 Price Index (as of September 3, 2026)FormBlends price index

Sources: Lilly, Zepbound coverage and savings; LillyDirect, Zepbound self-pay; healthinsurance.org, Medicare GLP-1 Bridge; FormBlends Compounded GLP-1 Price Index feed.

FAQ

What does the first dose of Zepbound feel like?

Most patients feel nothing in the first 4 to 8 hours. Mild appetite suppression starts within 12 to 24 hours. Day 2 to 4 is when the drug is fully active. Mild nausea, fatigue, or constipation are the most common first-week experiences. Severe symptoms are uncommon.

How quickly does Zepbound start working?

Pharmacologically, plasma tirzepatide peaks at a median of 24 hours after injection (range 8 to 72 hours), and steady state is reached after 4 weekly doses (label section 12.3, revised 08/2026). When appetite changes become noticeable varies by person and is not reported in the label. The 2.5 mg dose is for treatment initiation and is not an approved maintenance dose.

How much weight will I lose in the first month on Zepbound?

No published trial reports 4-week weight change at 2.5 mg. SURMOUNT-1 had no 2.5 mg arm and reported 72-week results: -15.0, -19.5 and -20.9 percent at 5, 10 and 15 mg against -3.1 percent on placebo (NEJM 2022). The therapeutic weight loss happens after the 5 mg escalation.

Will I have nausea after my first Zepbound injection?

Maybe. No 2.5 mg-specific nausea rate is published. The label reports nausea in 25 percent of 5 mg patients over 72 weeks against 8 percent on placebo (Table 1, revised 08/2026). Nausea is usually reported early in treatment for GLP-1 class drugs; its timing and severity at 2.5 mg are not published. Eating small protein-forward meals, staying hydrated, and avoiding fatty foods reduces the chance.

When should I take my first Zepbound dose, morning or evening?

Either is fine, but most providers recommend morning so you can monitor for any unexpected reactions during waking hours. Pick a day of the week you can stick with. Tirzepatide is a once-weekly injection and works best on a consistent 7-day cycle.

Where should I inject Zepbound the first time?

Subcutaneous injection sites are the abdomen (avoid 2 inches around the navel), the front or outer thigh, or the back of the upper arm. The abdomen is the most popular site because it's easy to see and reach. Rotate sites weekly to avoid lipohypertrophy (lumpy skin from repeat injections in the same spot).

Can I drink alcohol after my first Zepbound dose?

A small drink is unlikely to cause harm, but the first 7 to 10 days are easier on the stomach without alcohol. Alcohol can worsen nausea, raise reflux risk, and may feel stronger than expected because GLP-1 agonists alter alcohol metabolism in some patients.

Should I exercise after my first Zepbound injection?

Light to moderate exercise is fine and encouraged. Heavy training in the first 2 to 3 days may feel harder because of mild fatigue and lower calorie intake. Listen to your body and don't push through severe nausea or dizziness. Hydration and pre-workout protein matter more than usual.

Will my appetite come back during the week between injections?

Plasma tirzepatide oscillates in a steady-state range, reached after 4 weekly doses, with a half-life of approximately 5 to 6 days (label section 12.3). Appetite suppression is strongest day 2 to 5 and gradually softens day 6 to 7 before the next injection resets the cycle. Most patients describe day 6 to 7 as "I'm hungrier but still not normal hungry."

What if I don't feel anything after my first dose?

No published figure describes how many people notice no appetite change at 2.5 mg. The starter dose is for treatment initiation, not maintenance (label, revised 08/2026). Effects are usually clearly noticeable after escalation to 5 mg at week 5. If you don't feel anything at 5 mg by week 8, talk with your provider about whether tirzepatide is right for you.

How long after my first dose can I take a second dose?

Zepbound is dosed once weekly, so the second dose comes 7 days after the first. Don't take a second dose early because side effects feel mild. If you miss a dose, the label says to take it within 4 days (96 hours) of the missed day; if more than 4 days have passed, skip it and take the next dose on the regular day (section 2.3, revised 08/2026). Never double up.

What should I do if I'm nervous about my first injection?

Watch the manufacturer's injection video the day before. Practice the motion (without the actual injection) on a piece of fruit. Take the injection at a time of day you'll be home and can rest. Most patients describe the actual injection as briefer and easier than they expected.

Is the 2.5 mg starter dose supposed to cause weight loss?

Not by design. The Zepbound label (revised 08/2026) says the 2.5 mg dosage is for treatment initiation and is not approved as a maintenance dosage; the dose is raised in 2.5 mg steps after at least 4 weeks. In SURMOUNT-1 (NEJM 2022) every active arm started at 2.5 mg during a 20-week escalation, and the trial reported weight change at 72 weeks, not at 4 weeks.

Can I take my second Zepbound dose early if the first one felt mild?

No. The label schedules one dose every 7 days and gives no allowance for taking a dose early. Its only timing exception is for a missed dose, which can be taken within 4 days (96 hours); after that, skip it and resume on the regular day (section 2.3, revised 08/2026). If you have already injected more than prescribed, call the Poison Help Line at 1-800-222-1222, as the label's overdosage section directs.

What does the first month of Zepbound cost in September 2026?

With commercial coverage and the Lilly savings card, as little as $25 for a 1-month fill (savings capped at $100 per fill and $1,300 per year; card expires December 31, 2026). If your commercial plan does not cover it, $499. Self-pay through LillyDirect is $299 for the 2.5 mg vial or KwikPen when refilled within 45 days. Medicare's GLP-1 Bridge charges $50 a month for the Zepbound KwikPen from July 1, 2026 with prior authorization.

Sources

  1. Jastreboff AM, Aronne LJ, Ahmad NN, et al. Tirzepatide once weekly for the treatment of obesity (SURMOUNT-1). N Engl J Med. 2022;387:205-216.
  2. Frias JP, Davies MJ, Rosenstock J, et al. Tirzepatide versus semaglutide once weekly in patients with type 2 diabetes (SURPASS-2). N Engl J Med. 2021;385:503-515.
  3. Wilding JPH, Batterham RL, Calanna S, et al. Once-weekly semaglutide in adults with overweight or obesity (STEP 1). N Engl J Med. 2021;384:989-1002.
  4. Garvey WT, Frias JP, Jastreboff AM, et al. Tirzepatide once weekly for the treatment of obesity in people with type 2 diabetes (SURMOUNT-2). Lancet. 2023;402:613-626.
  5. Eli Lilly and Company. Zepbound (tirzepatide) prescribing information, revised 08/2026. https://pi.lilly.com/us/zepbound-uspi.pdf
  6. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA's Concerns with Unapproved GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss, content current as of September 1, 2026. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/postmarket-drug-safety-information-patients-and-providers/fdas-concerns-unapproved-glp-1-drugs-used-weight-loss (Replaces an unverifiable nutrition citation, September 2026.)
  7. Urva S, Coskun T, Loghin C, et al. The novel dual glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide and glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) receptor agonist tirzepatide transiently delays gastric emptying similarly to selective long-acting GLP-1 receptor agonists. Diabetes Obes Metab. 2020. doi 10.1111/dom.14110. (Corrected citation, September 2026.)
  8. Eli Lilly and Company. Zepbound prescribing information, Warnings and Precautions (acute pancreatitis) and section 12.2 (gastric emptying), revised 08/2026. https://pi.lilly.com/us/zepbound-uspi.pdf
  9. Florida Department of Health. USP General Chapter <797> sterile compounding inspection form (28-day multiple-dose rule), August 2024. https://www.floridahealth.gov/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/SterileCompounding-Revision1USP7972022.August2024-1.pdf
  10. American Diabetes Association. Standards of medical care in diabetes, 2024. Diabetes Care. 2024;47(Suppl 1).
  11. Eli Lilly and Company. Zepbound (tirzepatide) prescribing information, revised 08/2026 (Table 1 adverse reactions; sections 2, 2.3, 10, 12.2, 12.3, 16). https://pi.lilly.com/us/zepbound-uspi.pdf
  12. Jastreboff AM, Aronne LJ, Ahmad NN, et al. Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity (SURMOUNT-1). New England Journal of Medicine. 2022;387(3):205-216 (5, 10 and 15 mg arms vs placebo, 72 weeks, 20-week escalation; no 2.5 mg arm).
  13. Eli Lilly and Company. Zepbound coverage and savings (savings card terms, card expires December 31, 2026; $499 not-covered price). https://zepbound.lilly.com/coverage-savings
  14. Eli Lilly and Company. LillyDirect self-pay pricing for Zepbound vials and KwikPen ($299, $399, $449; 45-day refill rule). https://www.lilly.com/lillydirect/zepbound
  15. healthinsurance.org. Does health insurance cover drugs used for weight loss? (Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, $50 per month, July 1, 2026 through December 31, 2027). https://www.healthinsurance.org/faqs/does-health-insurance-cover-drugs-used-for-weight-loss-such-as-ozempic-wegovy-mounjaro-and-zepbound/
  16. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA's Concerns with Unapproved GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss, content current as of September 1, 2026 (730+ compounded tirzepatide adverse-event reports as of May 31, 2026). https://www.fda.gov/drugs/postmarket-drug-safety-information-patients-and-providers/fdas-concerns-unapproved-glp-1-drugs-used-weight-loss
  17. FormBlends. Compounded GLP-1 Price Index, data feed as of September 3, 2026. https://formblends.com/feeds/glp1-prices.json
  18. Florida Department of Health. USP General Chapter <797> sterile compounding inspection form, August 2024 (28-day multiple-dose rule). https://www.floridahealth.gov/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/SterileCompounding-Revision1USP7972022.August2024-1.pdf

Platform Disclaimer. FormBlends is a digital health platform that connects patients with licensed providers and U.S.-based pharmacies. We do not manufacture, prescribe, or dispense medication directly. All clinical decisions are made by independent licensed providers.

Compounded Medication Notice. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are not FDA-approved. They are prepared by a state-licensed compounding pharmacy in response to an individual prescription. Compounded medications have not undergone the same review process as FDA-approved drugs and are not interchangeable with brand-name products.

Results Disclaimer. Individual results vary. Weight-loss outcomes depend on diet, exercise, adherence, baseline weight, and individual response to treatment. Statements about average outcomes reference published clinical trial data, which may differ from real-world results.

Trademark Notice. Zepbound and Mounjaro are registered trademarks of Eli Lilly and Company. Pepto-Bismol is a registered trademark of Procter & Gamble. FormBlends is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by any of these companies.

See your options in about 2 minutes

Take the free quiz and see what fits you. Quick, private, and no commitment to continue.

See my options →
First Zepbound Dose: What to Expect in the First 72 Hours custom 2026 header image for GLP-1 Weight Loss
Custom header image for First Zepbound Dose: What to Expect in the First 72 Hours, GLP-1 Weight Loss, and better treatment decision-making.

A practical first-week log · August 24, 2026

Track the week, not just the scale

A few notes each day can show when changes started and whether they lasted. Use the same fields each day so you have a cleaner record to compare later.

WhenWrite downWhat it tells you
Before the first doseDose time, injection site, baseline appetite, meals, fluids, and existing symptomsCreates a baseline before attributing a change to the dose.
First 24 hoursOnset time and intensity of appetite, stomach, energy, and sleep changesShows the sequence instead of relying on an end-of-week summary.
Days 2-4Meal size, hunger between meals, fluid intake, bowel pattern, and symptom durationShows whether a pattern persists, changes, or resolves.
Days 5-7Return of appetite, unresolved symptoms, and questions for the next appointmentCreates a useful weekly comparison without treating one week as a forecast.

The goal is not to score the first dose as a success or failure. A simple daily record gives you more to work with than one weigh-in or a vague memory of the week.

Research Snapshot

Medication guide

Entities covered

Page type
Medication guide
Page metadata
Page updated
2026-08-24
Page metadata
Tirzepatide official website
Official source
Zepbound official website
Official source
Before you act
Check the current prescribing information, regulatory status, and trial source before treating an investigational or newly approved medication as interchangeable with an established therapy.
Check before ordering

Regulatory status, labels, trial records, and sponsor updates can change quickly for obesity-drug pipeline pages. This snapshot is designed to make verification easier, not to replace checking the official source before making a medical or purchase decision. Page updated: 2026-08-24.

Continue with decision-grade research

Compare the options behind this question

These pages separate verified facts, commercial terms, and unresolved claims so you can check the evidence before choosing a provider.

GLP-1 decision path

Use this page to decide if a provider review is the right next step

Related treatment context

First Zepbound Dose: What to Expect in the First 72 Hours research is most useful when it helps you compare eligibility, expected results, side effects, cost, and the supervision needed before treatment.

Evidence check

The strongest GLP-1 pages connect the practical answer to clinical trials, FDA labeling where applicable, and real access constraints.

Safety check

A licensed clinician still needs to review health history, contraindications, current medications, side effects, and dose escalation.

Next step

When the page matches your goal, continue into the FormBlends get-started flow so the intake can route you toward the right prescription review path.

Original tools and data

Use FormBlends tools and data

Compare provider prices, explore local access and check calculations using FormBlends tools and data.

Medical Disclaimer: This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before starting, stopping, or changing any medication or treatment. FormBlends articles are source-checked against medical and regulatory references, but they are not a substitute for a personal medical consultation.

Written by FormBlends Editorial Research

Prepared by FormBlends Editorial Research.

Ready to get started?

Provider-reviewed GLP-1 and peptide therapy, delivered to your door.

Start Your Consultation

Ready to Start Your Weight Loss Journey?

Get a free medical consultation with a licensed provider. Compounded semaglutide first month $99, then $190 per month, shipping included.

Related decision guides

Next Best Reads

FormBlends for iPhone

Shot days, doses and progress in one place

The free FormBlends iPhone app tracks GLP-1 doses, shot-day reminders, weight trends, meals and private progress photos.

Free Tools

Calculators to support your weight loss journey.